POC - 10th Annual Defense R&D Summit

10th Annual Defense R&D Summit | Potomac Officers Club


In today's rapidly evolving global landscape, speed, innovation, technology and capability are all key to achieving dominance and projecting power on the world stage. The foremost defense leaders, researchers, experts and decision makers convene to discuss the latest developments in cutting-edge technology for the U.S. military at the Potomac Officers Club’s 10th Annual Defense Research and Development Summit. 


Our distinguished speakers will discuss topics such as bridging the valley of death, winning the great power competition, navigating the virtual battlespace, securing the innovation advantage, intelligent NetOps and deploying AI to unlock R&D potential during our tenth installment of one of the largest and most comprehensive GovCon defense summits of the year! 


Wednesday, January 31, 2024
7:00am - 4:30pm
Eastern Time Zone


Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
5000 Seminary Rd
Alexandria, VA 22311


William Bailey

Director and Program Executive Officer

Air Force Rapid Capabilities Office [DAF/RCO]

Dr. Patrick Baker

Director, DEVCOM Army Research Lab

U.S. Army

Dr. Monique Beaudoin

Associate Research Scientist

University of Maryland Applied Research Laboratory for Intelligence and Security

Chris Bishop

Chief Growth Officer

Ultra Intelligence & Communications

CAPT Jesse Black

Commanding Officer

U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL)

Maj. Gen. Scott Cain


Air Force Research Lab

Dr. William Casebeer

Director of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning

Riverside Research

Col. Dave Chaboya

Senior Materiel Leader

U.S. Department of the Air Force

BG John Cushing

Commanding General

U.S. Army Combat Capabilities Development Command [DEVCOM]

Maura Diamond

Director, Government & Funders

Digital Science

Dr. Tom Drake

Head, Ocean Battlespace Sensing Department (Code 32)

Office of Naval Research [ONR]

Stan Drozdetski

Extranet Integration Lead


Jay Dryer

Director, Strategic Capabilities Office (SCO)

U.S. Department of Defense (DOD)

Erik Ekudden

Chief Technology Officer


Wyn Elder

Managing Director, Global & US Public Sector


Randy Fields


Ultra Intelligence & Communications

Sgt. Maj. (Ret.) Daniel Gile

Vice President, National Security

Digital Science

Jeff Harman

President and CEO


Maynard Holliday

PTDO Assistant Secretary of Defense For Critical Technologies

U.S. Department of Defense (OUSD R&E)

Melissa Johnson

Acquisition Executive

U.S. Special Operations Command [USSOCOM]

Donald Kelley

Fusion Cell Lead

U.S. Marine Corps Systems Command

Aditi Kumar

Deputy Director

Defense Innovation Unit (DIU)

LTC Timothy Lawrence

J6 Chief Operating Officer

Joint Special Operations Command

Michael Loomis


Nokia Federal Solution

William McHenry

Senior Advisor to the Director

Defense Innovation Unit (DIU)

Dr. Eric Moore

Deputy to the Commanding General

U.S. Army Combat Capabilities Development Command [DEVCOM]

Dr. Bindu Nair

Director, Basic Research Office, OUSD R&E

U.S. Department of Defense (DOD)

LtCol Benjamin Pimentel

Technical Lead for Expeditionary & Tactical Programs FutureG

U.S. Department of Defense (OUSD R&E)

CSM Jesse Potter

Brigade Command Sergeant Major

780th Military Intelligence Brigade (Cyber)

Dr. Jeff Pursel

VP of Technology Development

Riverside Research

Juan Ramirez

Director, 5G Cross Functional Team

Office of the Chief Information Officer (DOD CIO)

Keith Rohwer

Director, Cyber Operations Divsion

U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL)

Hon. Heidi Shyu

Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering

U.S. Department of Defense (OUSD R&E)

Michael Sieber

Cybersecurity Director


Kevin Stiles



Dr. Richard Vaia

Chief Scientist for the Materials and Manufacturing Directorate

Air Force Research Lab

Dr. Martin Weiss

Director for FutureG Applied Research, and Technical Lead for Resilient and Open Commercial Solutions

U.S. Department of Defense (OUSD R&E)

Stephen Welby

Deputy Director for National Security

Office of Science and Technology Policy [OSTP]

Dr. Randy Yamada

Vice President

Booz Allen

Christopher Yaw

Vice President, End-2-End Solutions

Ericsson Federal Technologies Group


7:00am8:00amNetworking Reception
8:00am8:05amWelcome & Opening Remarks
8:05am8:45amOpening Keynote: USD Heidi Shyu
Keynote Introducer: Erik Ekudden
8:45am9:20amMorning Keynote: Steve Welby
Keynote Introducer: Maura Diamond
9:20am9:55amMorning Keynote: BG John Cushing
Keynote Introducer: Mike Loomis
9:55am10:25amNetworking Break
10:25am11:25amPanel A: Innovation to Implementation: William Bailey, Melissa Johnson, Donald Kelley, Mike Loomis and Christopher Yaw (Moderator)
10:25am11:25amPanel B: The Great Power Competition: Dr. Patrick Baker, CAPT Jesse Black, Maj. Gen. Scott Cain, Randy Fields (Moderator) and Dr. Randy Yamada
11:35am12:35pmPanel A: The New Virtual Battlespace: Dr. Monique Beaudoin, Dr. Bill Casebeer (Moderator), Col Dave Chaboya, CSM Jesse Potter and Michael Sieber
11:35am12:35pmPanel B: Technological Overmatch: Ensuring the Innovation Advantage in a Complex Security Landscape: CAPT Jesse Black, Sgt. Maj. (Ret.) Daniel Gile (Moderator), Maynard Holliday, William McHenry, Dr. Eric Moore and Dr. Richard Vaia
12:35pm1:15pmLunch Break
1:15pm2:15pmPanel A: Intelligent NetOps: LTC Tim Lawrence, Lt Col Benjamin Pimentel, Juan Ramirez, Kevin Stiles (Moderator) and Dr. Martin Weiss
1:15pm2:15pmPanel B: Unlocking potential for R&D results with AI: Stan Drozdetski, Wyn Elder (Moderator) and Keith Rohwer
2:15pm2:45pmNetworking Break
2:45pm3:20pmMid-Day Keynote: Dr. Tom Drake
Keynote Introducer: Jeff Harman
3:20pm3:55pmAfternoon Keynote: Aditi Kumar
Keynote Introducer: Dr. Jeff Pursel
3:55pm4:30pmClosing Keynote: Jay Dryer
Keynote Introducer: Chris Bishop
4:30pm4:35pmClosing Comments
Lead Platinum Sponsor
Platinum Sponsors