Hello, Guest!

Federal Civilian

Internal Revenue Service to Revamp Leadership Structure

Executive movement

Internal Revenue Service to Revamp Leadership Structure

The Internal Revenue Service has announced that it will reduce its number of deputy commissioners from two to one and establish four new chief roles to lead information technology, operations, tax compliance and taxpayer service.

Doug O’Donnell, the current deputy commissioner for services and enforcement, will serve as the new single deputy commissioner, the IRS said Wednesday.

The four new chief positions, meanwhile, will report directly to O’Donnell. Ken Corbin, currently the agency’s wage and investment commissioner, will serve as chief of taxpayer service, while IRS Chief of Staff Heather Maloy is expected to transition to the chief taxpayer compliance officer role.

Melanie Krause, the agency’s chief data and analytics officer, will serve as chief operating officer.

Rajiv Uppal, a Department of Health and Human Services official, is slated to assume the chief information officer position when he joins the agency in 2024.

The implementation of the new leadership structure is expected to occur in early 2024. Such changes are expected to enhance efficiency amid ongoing digital transformation efforts.

Sign Up Now! Potomac Officers Club provides you with Daily Updates and News Briefings about Federal Civilian

Category: Federal Civilian

Tags: Doug O'Donnell federal civilian Heather Maloy Internal Revenue Service Ken Corbin leadership structure Melanie Krause Rajiv Uppal