Hello, Guest!

Federal Civilian

NIST’s Industrial Advisory Committee Adds Five Members

Domestic chipmaker support


NIST’s Industrial Advisory Committee Adds Five Members

The National Institute of Standards and Technology has added five individuals to a cross-sector group that guides the secretary of commerce on domestic semiconductor research and development.

Congress, through the fiscal year 2021 budget, established the Industrial Advisory Committee to deliver advice on U.S. chipmakers’ needs, public-private partnership opportunities and microelectronics activities funded by the CHIPS for America program, NIST said Friday.

The new additions are Gregg Bartlett, Global Foundries’ chief technology officer; Scott DeBoer, Micron Technology’s executive vice president of technology and products; Mark Papermaster, Advanced Micro Devices’ CTO and EVP; Kristin Toth, General Motors’ executive director of advanced technology and electrical architecture; and Todd Younkin, Semiconductor Research Corp.’s president and CEO.

NIST said IAC terms last for three years. Committee members can hold up to two consecutive terms.

The IAC is chaired by Mike Splinter, general partner at MRS Business and Technology Advisors. Its vice chair is Susan Feindt, senior fellow and director of physical technology strategy at Analog Devices.

Sign Up Now! Potomac Officers Club provides you with Daily Updates and News Briefings about Federal Civilian

Category: Federal Civilian

Tags: CHIPS for America Department of Commerce federal civilian Industry Advisory Committee microelectronics National Institute of Standards and Technology semiconductor